What is the IB Primary Years Programme?

The IB Primary Years Programme (PYP) is a student-centred approach to education for children aged 3 to 12. The PYP focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both in school and in the world beyond.

Guided by six transdisciplinary themes of global significance, students broaden their learning by developing their conceptual understandings and strengthening their knowledge and skills across, between, and beyond subject areas.



The PYP is flexible enough to accommodate the requirements of most national or local curricula and offers students the best preparation for further study in the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP).


The IB Primary Years Programme


  • addresses the academic, social, and emotional well-being of students.
  • encourages students to develop their independence and take responsibility for their learning.
  • supports students’ efforts to understand the world and learn to function easily within it.

It helps students establish personal values that will form the foundation on which international-mindedness will develop and thrive.

The six subject areas of the IB Primary Years Programme

  • Language
  • Mathematics
  • Social studies
  • Arts
  • Sciences
  • Personal/ Social/ and Physical Education

The six transdisciplinary themes are the hallmark of the IB Primary Years Programme

These themes allow IB World Schools to incorporate local and global issues into the curriculum, and enable students to move beyond the traditional confines of learning in subject areas.